NOHA+ Erasmus Mundus Joint Master’s Degree Programme in International Humanitarian Action


NOHA+ Erasmus Mundus Joint Master’s Degree Programme in International Humanitarian Action

Applications are invited for NOHA Joint Master’s in International Humanitarian Action-Erasmus Mundus scholarships for the years 2018-2020. Erasmus Mundus scholarships cover full tuition costs, provide a monthly stipend of 1,000 euro throughout the entire duration of the study period (max 24 months) and contribution to travel costs.

NOHA’s mission is to increase the effectiveness and quality of humanitarian action through the provision of internationally recognized education, training, and research. NOHA promotes intellectual debate and thinking with a solid base on humanitarian principles and professional and human values.

 Minimum eligibility criteria:

  • A completed application is submitted through the online application system by the deadline (including all compulsory attachments, such as: copy of passport, certified copy of diploma, certified copies of academic transcripts, CV in English, reference letters),
  • Candidates must have obtained, as a minimum, a university first cycle degree (Bachelor, EQF level 6) in a discipline of relevance to humanitarian action,
  • Candidates are required to have a recognised qualification in the language(s) of instruction of the universities they plan to attend (English – C1 certificate; French – C1 certificate; Spanish – B2 certificate).

Selection criteria:

  • type and level of academic qualifications,
  • type and level of research experience,
  • type and level of professional experience, such as practical experience in the area of humanitarian action in governmental, inter-governmental and/or non-governmental organisations and institutions,
  • motivation and concern for humanitarian issues,
  • multicultural sensitivity,
  • level of linguistic abilities,
  • recommendations,
  • results of interviews (if applicable),
  • nationality and gender balance.

Eligible Countries: 

For the academic year 2018-2019, 25 such scholarships will be offered:

4 scholarships are earmarked for the EU/EFTA citizens,
14 scholarships are earmarked for the non-EU citizens without geographic limitations
7 scholarships are earmarked for specific non-EU regions/groups of countries, as follows:

  • EU Eastern Neighbourhood (1),
  • EU Southern Neighbourhood (1),
  • Asia-LDC countries (Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Nepal) (1)
  • Latin America LMI countries (Bolivia, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Paraguay) (1)
  • Latin America remaining countries (Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, Panama, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela) (1)
  • Gulf Countries (1)
  • ACP (Africa, Caribbean, and Pacific) Countries (1)

Entrance Requirements:

 To be eligible for this scholarship you must meet the following requirements:

The NOHA Master’s in International Humanitarian Action has been designed for people working or intending to work in the field of humanitarian action. Candidates are chosen on the basis of the quality of their education and professional background, their experience in and concern for humanitarian issues, their multicultural sensitivity, and their linguistic abilities.

English Language Requirements:

Knowledge of English is a requirement. For specific information about the certificate that you have to provide, please contact the NOHA coordination department at the university in which you are planning to enrol.

Application procedure

You can apply for the Master Course with both certificates (IELTS or TOEFL). It is required to have a level equivalent to C1 (Common European Framework of Reference for Languages).
Regarding the language test, you can send your scores after the deadline. Please remember that if you are pre-selected for the Masters Course, your home university may ask you to submit a proof of language ability, so you will need to take the test.
If you do not yet have your test scores, when submitting your application form, attach a word document to the language certificate field, stating that your scores will be received later.

As of academic year 2018/19, NOHA+ programme was awarded with the Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Degree (EMJMD) title and a number of scholarships are available for students from both Programme and Partner countries. You will be able to apply for scholarship only between 1 November 2017 and 31 January 2018.


Read also:  Request for nominations- WHO Strategic Advisory Group of Experts (SAGE) on immunization

About Author

Sagun's Blog is popular health information sharing online platform initiated by Sagun Paudel since 2011. Thousands of health professionals have trusted Sagun’s Blog as a right website to find the latest public health opportunities, information & resources for health updates in Nepal. Sagun’s Blog is also serving information on global opportunities for international visitors. The main purpose of this blog is to share the right public health updates, information & opportunities in right time for public health professionals. The most popular information in this blog are jobs, scholarships, conferences, fellowships, awards, internships, grants, national & international plan policy, guideline, report, and health news. Sagun’s Blog is committed & dedicated to delivering accurately, trusted, up-to-date health information & opportunities to all health professionals. This initiation will help every public health professionals to have access to the right information & opportunities at right time to develop their professional career.

Comments are closed.